Uncategorized · wrap up

December 2016 Wrap Up

monthly-wrap-up-1

lizzie-bennet

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su & Kate Rorick (4 stars)

I read this because I had watched the web series and I loved it. I definitely enjoyed this companion novel as well. A thing that I really liked in both the web series and the book is the diversity that was added to the original story, because some of the main characters were asian and that makes it more relatable. Also, I liked the writing, the humor and the romance.

ruin-and-rising

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo (4,5 stars)

I think this was a great conclusion to the series, I had been hesitant to read this because I had heard mixed comments, but I think it improved the one thing that had made me not like the other books as much: I felt like Alina and Mal finally had some agency, their decisions were theirs, no one else was controlling them or taking the shots.

sixofcrows

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (4,3 stars)

Heist stories aren’t really my thing, but I really enjoyed this book anyway because the characters were so amazing. This book was full of diverse and complex characters, which kept me engrossed in the story; I ended up rooting for them even when I knew some of their decisions and actions were wrong.

crooked-kingdom

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (4 stars)

I actually liked the first book more. After spending so many time in the planning, the deceit, the trickery, I felt like the ending was rushed. The characters continued to be the strong point in these series, the character development was really good and the relationship between the characters evolved in an organic waym they weren’t rushed.

labyrinth-lostLabyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova (4,2 stars)

I loved reading this book and it made me even more centaint abput how much representation and diversity matter. Even when the cultural background, traditions and belief sistem are not exactly the same as mine, they do share a lot of similarities and I loved being able to relate certain parts of the book to cultural traditions of my country. Also, I loved the writing and I felt connected to the magic and world that Zoraida Córdova created.

Run by Kody Keplinger (4,3 stars)run

I loved the experience of reading this book, I knew before reading it that this was a #ownvoices book and it was interesting to read about a legally blind character and feel like I was actually understanding a bit better what it is like live as a legally blind person.  I could feel the authenticity in the way the story was told and that made this book something special. I think Kody Keplinger also portrayed female friendship and bisexuality in a very postive way.

in-order-to-live

In Order to Live by Yeonmi Park (4 stars)

This book was hard to read, because the whole time you know this actually happend to a girl, you know it happens to a lot of girls all over the world. Even when I knew how important this book is and how heartbreaking what I was reading was; I felt like the writing didn’t fit the book, it didn’t let me connect with the story as much as I wanted to.

the-princess-saves-herself

I found a lot of the poems in this collection very relatable and powerful. I bookmarked a lot of them, my favorite poems were for the most part about women, about how wonderful and strong we are; but a few of the other poems I loved dealt with death, abuse and suicide.There’s a broad variaty of themes in these collection and a consistency in the quality of the poems.

weshouldallbefeminists

This was a good book, but I think I would have liked it more if I was new to feminism and feminist ideas when I read it. I feel like this is a good introduction, but it’s so short that it’s just that, an introduction, and it only explores very basic ideas about gender. I understand that that was the purpose, but I was expecting a bit more.

weird-things-customers-say

This was not as funny as I was expecting it to be. Actually, this wasn’t what I was expecting it to be, period.  I was really disappointed while I was reading this book, there were only a few that I actually thought were entertaining or bizare enough that I enjoyed them. Also, I felt like the art didn’t add anything to the book.

sofia-khan-is-not-obliged

This book was really funny and it dealt with a lot of the stereotypes that people have about Muslims and their love lives, while being respectful, honest and entertaining. That may have to do with the fact that this is an #ownvoices book. Another thing that I loved about the book was that female relationships have such a central place throughout it.

I loved this book so much, it was funny and charming and the writing was amazing. I loved the way it adressed intersectionality and how it works (or doesn’t) in broader movements. My favorite thing about this book was Juliet; having a latinx characters that felt so incredibly authentic almost made me want to cry tears of happiness. Also, the way in which it adressed queerness was brilliant.

scrappy-little-nobody

Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick (3,5 Stars)

So many times when I read memoirs of famous people, they focus so much on silly anecdotes of their childhood and honestly, I wish they would tell us about their jobs that’s the why I’m reading the book. I want to know how you got where you are, I want to know anecdotes of you on set and so many other things. I felt this book was full of a lot of stories I didn’t find interesting or funny and way too little about her job as an actress.

 milk-and-honey

The thing is I loved some of the poems in this collection, I bookmarked a lot of them, but the ones I didn’t love were really disappointing. There wasn’t a consistency in the quality of the poems, I either loved them or didn’t care about them.

 Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? Let me know in the comments! 
8 thoughts on “December 2016 Wrap Up

  1. AHH, I’ve been wanting to get my hands on In Order to Live for so long now – half of my family is from North Korea (my mom’s side); my grandma actually fled the North when she was a child, so it’s a subject matter that’s extremely important to me!

    Like

  2. Labyrinth Lost is on my tbr this year. I started it last year, but never finished. I’m curious to see where it all goes because I only got as far as the main character thinking about wishing away her powers and we already know that goes horribly wrong.

    Juliet Takes a Breath is on my Kindle right now! It came recommended as a good diverse read and I’m glad to hear a positive review for it. The cover was cool to start, I thought.

    I’m really happy to see a good review for Sofia Khan is Not Obliged. To be honest the blurb I read didn’t sound all that appealing in execution, but maybe I should give it a try?

    Like

  3. The first four books on your list are four of my favorite books ever, and now I suddenly want to be your best friend 😀

    (Also: I’m currently rewatching The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. For the 4th time)

    Like

  4. I still need to read The Grisha books so I can read Six of Crows! I know I could read Six of Crows first but I really want to read Bardugo’s first series first you know! Glad to see that the trilogy ended on a high note for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

