Uncategorized

2016 Reading Challenges Wrap Up

reading-challenges-2

I’m going to start by saying that you are gonna see a lot of blog posts the next couple of days that may seem like they are post that should have been up like 2 week ago and I want you to know that you are right! I’m really behind with my blog posts because of lack of inspiration to blog, traveling and because I moved my blog from blogger to wordpress. But! the important things is that I’m posting them now.

RockMyTBR

My goal was to read 12 books, one each month, that I owned and that I had been meaning to read for a long time. I’m very happy to say that I reached this goal and read 20 books for the challenge.

Flights of Fantasy

My goal was to read 30 fantasy books in 2016 and I was so sure I could do that, but I didn’t count with the fact that I was gonna need a rest from fantasy in the middle of the year. At the end, I read 26 of the 30 books I had planned, which is still pretty good but not exactly what I wanted.

bbc

Backlist Books

This challenge was really fun, I was supposed to read 20 books realised at least a year before I read them and I ended up reading 55 backlist books. If you are new to this blog, you should know that while a lot of people are reading and reviewing arcs, backlist titles are my thing.

Finishing the Series 

My goal was to finish between 3 a 6 series that I had already started before the beginning of the year. At the end, I only finihsed 3 series but I still managed to complete this challege.

Goodreads Reading Challenge

My goal was to read 52 books in 2016 and I ended up reading 101 books. Almost double!

That’s it, I complete 4 out of 5 reading challenges and the one I didn’t complete it was only for 4 books. Anyway, I had a lot of fun. If you want to know about my reading challenges for 2017, here’s the link.

Let me know in the comments, how you did with your 2016 reading challenges and in which ones are you participatin in 2017. If you posted about it, leave me a link! 

4 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenges Wrap Up

  1. It looks like you did really well in your challenges. Congratulations on that! I try to do better with each one I participate in because I don’t dedicate the time to really “win” them; too easily distracted by Netflix, I suppose. I think my record of 3 out of 7 books.

    I didn’t make my Goodreads goal of 150 this year, but I came close with around 120. I scaled back to 100 this year and my main challenges this year are a.) Not so many DNFs and b.) Read more diversely & complete the #DiverseBingo2017 card. I’ve got 2 spots done so far and I had a great time reading those books (If I Was Your Girl and George, in case you were wondering).

    I’m working on the #DAReadathon for the rest of this weekend. Aentee @ Read At Midnight comes up with the best challenges and did a Pokemon one last year. Are there any challenges you’re looking forward to?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m participating in the #DAreadathon as well! Rignt now I’m reading the 6th book for the readathon and I think I won’t have enough time to read book 7. I was so close to completing all the books, but I had a few unexpected trips these last couple of weeks and I couldn’t read as much as I hoped.

      I can’t wait to read If I Was Your Girl and George, I have heard great things about both. I have read 5 books so far that work for the #DiversityBingo2017: 2 non-fiction books (redefining Relaness and Is Everyone Haging Out Without Me?) and 3 fiction books (An Ember in the Ashes, When Reason Breaks and Delicious Temptation). I have enjoyed all of them!

      I don’t DNF books often, I think maybe 3 or 4 per year and I usually don’t count them as DNF’s because they are mostly cases of ‘I’m not in the mood to read this book, I will read it another time’. But I totally see why not DFNing books is a good goal, it means you are reading less books that you don’t enjoy.

      Also, reading more diversely is one of my main goals this year too. That’s the reason why #DiversityBingo2017 is one of the challenges I’m more excited about. Other challenge that I’m looking forward to is Beat the Backlist, because I read so many backlist books that it’s always cool making it a challenge.

      Like

      1. I like the idea of Beat the Backlist. So much focus is on newer titles, which is nice and all, but there are plenty of titles that get forgotten just because they’re older.

        I got distracted easily this last week because I kept coming across new titles that sounded more interesting. I just got the Love is Love graphic novel and that is both beautiful and heartbreaking.

        Is one of those non-fiction books you mentioned by Mindy Kaling? I’ve been meaning to try some of her stuff out (books, shows) but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

        Like

Leave a Reply

