#ownvoices · Diverse Books · Diversity Spotlight Thursday

Divesity Spotlight Thursday #1

diverse-spotlight1This is very exciting! I’m finally joining Diversity Spotlight Thursday, which is weekly meme hosted by Aimal from Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Every week, the participants are suppost to choose one book for each of the three categories: a diverse book you have read and enjoyed, a diverse book on your tbr, and a diverse book that has not yet been released. 

I have decided to pick  books that have  less than a thousand ratings on Goodreads, because I want to promote less known diverse books and authors, and I will try to choose only #ownvoices books, because I want the authors that I promote to be members of minorities and marginalized groups. I will let you know if I ever choose a book that doesn’t fit in one of these two categories. But for today, I can say that all three books are both #ownvoices and have less than a thousand ratings on Goodreads.

read

sofia-khan-is-not-obliged

“Brilliant idea! Excellent! Muslim dating? Well, I had no idea you were allowed to date.’ Then he leaned towards me and looked at me sympathetically. ‘Are your parents quite disappointed?’

Unlucky in love once again after her possible-marriage-partner-to-be proves a little too close to his parents, Sofia Khan is ready to renounce men for good. Or at least she was, until her boss persuades her to write a tell-all expose about the Muslim dating scene. As her woes become her work, Sofia must lean on the support of her brilliant friends, baffled colleagues and baffling parents as she goes in search of stories for her book. In amongst the marriage-crazy relatives, racist tube passengers and decidedly odd online daters, could there be a a lingering possibility that she might just be falling in love . . . ?

Goodreads| Amazon

This book deals with steriotypes that people have about Muslims and their love lifes in a very funny way, while being respectful, honest and entertaining. It also shows very different types of romantic relationships in very realistic ways and  female relationships (between mother and daughters, sisters and friends) have  a central place throughout the book. If you are looking for a books with a muslim protagonist, I totally recommend this!

tbr

on-the-edge-of-goneJanuary 29, 2035. That’s the day the comet is scheduled to hit—the big one. Denise and her mother and sister, Iris, have been assigned to a temporary shelter near their hometown of Amsterdam to wait out the blast, but Iris is nowhere to be found, and at the rate Denise’s drug-addicted mother is going, they’ll never reach the shelter in time.

Then a last-minute encounter leads them to something better than a temporary shelter: a generation ship that’s scheduled to leave Earth behind and colonize new worlds after the comet hits. But each passenger must have a practical skill to contribute. Denise is autistic and fears that she’ll never be allowed to stay. Can she obtain a spot before the ship takes flight? What about her mother and sister? When the future of the human race is at stake, whose lives matter most?

Goodreads | Amazon 

I added this to my tbr recently because I want to read more books with characters in the autism spectrum and I have heard this one is amazing (maybe because is #ownvoices?! I think so!). The fact that it’s a sci-fi makes me even more excited, because I have never read a sci-fi with a neurodivergent character and I think it’s gonna be so cool to see how main character handles a world that’s coming apart.

coming-soon

27 Hours by Tristina Wright

27-hours

Rumor Mora fears two things: hellhounds too strong for him to kill, and failure. Jude Welton has two dreams: for humans to stop killing monsters, and for his strange abilities to vanish.But in no reality should a boy raised to love monsters fall for a boy raised to kill them.

Nyx Llorca keeps two secrets: the moon speaks to her, and she’s in love with Dahlia, her best friend. Braeden Tennant wants two things: to get out from his mother’s shadow, and to unlearn Epsilon’s darkest secret. They’ll both have to commit treason to find the truth.

During one twenty-seven-hour night, if they can’t stop the war between the colonies and the monsters from becoming a war of extinction, the things they wish for will never come true, and the things they fear will be all that’s left.

Goodreads | Amazon

This week we finally got a cover for this book and I’m so excited! The synopsis sounds fascinating, the cover looks beautiful and I follow the author on Twitter and she is amazing. Even more important than all that, 27 Hours is a sci-fi book with a main characters that is part of the LGBTQ+ community. We definitely do not get enought fantasy and sci-fi books with diverse characters ( even if lately those book have incresed) and I can’t wait to read it. This book is being released in October 2017.

Follow me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter 

Have you read any of these? Did you like them? Can you recommend me some diverse books you love? 

10 thoughts on “Divesity Spotlight Thursday #1

  1. Ahh finally someone who is as excited for 27 Hours as I am! It’s my most anticipated book of the year but I am also closely anticipating Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit, At the Edge of the Universe & You’re Welcome, Universe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All of these are such good books… and they are all on my TBR. I literally just got Sofia Khan is Not Obliged delivered to my house this week, and now I really want to read it. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. Also… the cover for 27 Hours is SO. DROOLWORTHY. Why must we wait so long to get this book into our lives?!?! Seems unfair.

    Like

  3. I really like the idea of this blogpost! You have a great list; all of these books have recently captured my attention, and I can’t wait to get them and read them. I am interested to see your reviews on these books, so please share the with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

