#ownvoices · Diverse Books · Diversity Spotlight Thursday · Uncategorized

Diversity Spotlight Thursday #2

diverse-spotlight1

I really enjoyed participating in this meme last week, so I’m back with more diverse books! Diversity Spotlight Thrusday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal from Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Every week, the participants are suppost to choose one book for each of the three categories: a diverse book you have read and enjoyed, a diverse book on your tbr, and a diverse book that has not yet been released. 

I have decided to pick  books that have  less than a thousand ratings on Goodreads, because I want to promote less known diverse books and authors, and I will try to choose only #ownvoices books, because I want the authors that I promote to be members of minorities and marginalized groups.

read

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera

juliet-takes-a-breath

Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But Juliet has a plan, sort of, one that’s going to help her figure out this whole “Puerto Rican lesbian” thing. She’s interning with the author of her favorite book: Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women’s bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff. 

Will Juliet be able to figure out her life over the course of one magical summer? Is that even possible? Or is she running away from all the problems that seem too big to handle?

With more questions than answers, Juliet takes on Portland, Harlowe, and most importantly, herself.

Goodreads | Amazon 

I don’t know how many times have I talked about this book in the last 2 months, but I don’t think I will be stopping any time soon. I will say this again, just in case you don’t know, this was my favorite book of 2016 and it’s now one of my favorite books of all times. Because of that, I want everyone to read it. So this is the weekly reminder that if you haven’t read this, you should. This book talks about feminism, queerness and intersectionality in a perfect way. Also, it has a main character that I want to protect at all cost, because she is precious.

tbr

Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza 

3a85c-empress2bof2ba2bthousand2bskies

Empress

Rhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.

Fugitive
Aly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he’s forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.

Madman
With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.

A saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy.

Goodreads | Amazon 

This book was one of my most anticipated books of 2017 and it was released a few days ago. I’m a big fan of fantasy, so I’m always in the lookout for diverse fantasy books and this book has an asian main character, as well as a black main character . The synopsis of Empress of a Thousand Skies intrigued me and the cover captivated me. Also, I participated in a twitter chat with the author and she is incredibly nice. This is the kind of fantasy book that I want to see more of.

coming-soon

How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

how-to-make-a-wish

All seventeen year-old Grace Glasser wants is her own life. A normal life in which she sleeps in the same bed for longer than three months and doesn’t have to scrounge for spare change to make sure the electric bill is paid. Emotionally trapped by her unreliable mother, Maggie, and the tiny cape on which she lives, she focuses on her best friend, her upcoming audition for a top music school in New York, and surviving Maggie’s latest boyfriend—who happens to be Grace’s own ex-boyfriend’s father.

Her attempts to lay low until she graduates are disrupted when she meets Eva, a girl with her own share of ghosts she’s trying to outrun. Grief-stricken and lonely, Eva pulls Grace into midnight adventures and feelings Grace never planned on. When Eva tells Grace she likes girls, both of their worlds open up. But, united by loss, Eva also shares a connection with Maggie. As Grace’s mother spirals downward, both girls must figure out how to love and how to move on.

Goodreads| Amazon

This book sounds both adorable and incredible sad at the same time. I just got an arc through Netgalley, so I’m super excited to be able to read it before release date, which is May 2nd 2017. The LGBTQ+ characters are one of the main reasons I’m looking forward to reading this.

Follow me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter 

Have you read any of these? Did you like them? Can you recommend me some diverse books you love? 

3 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #2

Leave a Reply

