bookish list · discussion · How to

How to Get Out of a Blogging Slump

how-to-get-out-of-a-blogging-slump

A few days ago, I participated in the #BHPChat on Twitter and one of the questions was if we had any tips to get out of a Blogging Slump. A lot of the people participating in the chat tweeted me saying my answer was really helpful or that they agreed with what I said. Today, I decided to share those tips and a few others here on the blog.

1. Change the design of your blog

You can either completely redesign it or just make small changes, depending on how much you like the way your blog looks. The last time I was on a blogging slump, I moved my blog from blogspot to wordpress and completely redesign it and since then I have been super excited to blog and I  have been doing it  more constantly.

Sometimes appearances do matter, if you don’t like the way your blog looks then you may feel less incline to blog. Also, if you feel that the plataform you’re using isn’t working for you then you may also feel less incline to blog (that was my case with blogspot). Sometimes you may love the way your blog looks but it has had the same design since the beginning of time, then that can affect your excitement when blogging as well.

Whatever the reason a new appearance may give you the motivation you need to start blogging again.

2. Visit you favorite blogs 

A lot of the time, the thing that inspires me the most to keep blogging is reading amazing blog posts because I feel the desire to write an amazing blog posts of my own. When I’m on a blogging slump, I visit my favorite blogs and I start to feel motivated to be as good as the bloggers behind it are. It’s not about copying anyone, it’s about wanting to write great post in your own personal way.

3. Write a list of ideas for blog posts

Even when you don’t feel like writing a blog posts, if you write down ideas for things you want to blog about in the future, you are going to start getting excited about them. If you write down, for example, ‘discussion about book bloggers and different types of social media’ in your notebook, bullet journal, a draft on your blog, and then you see a twitter discussion or a booktube video that relates to that or gives you more ideas for that post you want to write, then your gonna get excited about writing it and once that happens, you are gonna be on your way out of a blogging slump.

When we have concrete ideas we want to blog about in the future, it’s easier to find inspiration everywhere we look and then the excitement begins and the blogging slump ends.

4. Get involve with other parts of the community. 

Blogging isn’t the only way to participated in the online book community. If you don’t want to write blog posts, you still can participate in Twitter chats or post pictures on bookstagram. There’s so many other things you can do that are related to books, that way your gonna get excited about talking about books again and, let’s be honest, a lot of time 140 characters or a comment in a photo are not enough and that’s when you start to feel the itch of blogging again.

Also, a lot of the time when you are on Twitter or Instagram you see people talking about their blogs or sharing blog posts and you are going to get jealous (in this case that’s good!) and you are gonna want to have something to share as well. That’s when you start blogging again! Or maybe you won’t get jealous, you will feel sad and nostalgic and you are gonna start to remember how fun blogging was or how proud you were of your blog posts and that way you get out of a blogging slump.

5. Read the blog posts you’re more proud of

Here’s the thing, everyone has that blog post or those blog posts that make us proud, the ones we want to share with everyone or we can’t stop talkng about them, and reading them reminds you of that feeling of being proud and happy because something you blogged about and that feeling is one of the best feelings in the world. Remebering that feeling makes you want to feel it again and that why you get out of a blogging slump.

 That’s it! Those are my 5 tips to get out of a blogging slump.

Have you ever been on a blogging slump? How did you get out of it? Do you have some tips to get out of a blogging slump? 

Follow me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter 

20 thoughts on “How to Get Out of a Blogging Slump

  1. Really great post, I’m actually in a bit of a blogging slump at the minute, I just can’t seem to come up with any ideas. I love this app called BooksAmino and that always makes me feel a bit more motivated because people are so active on it! These are some really good ideas, I always change little things on my blog. I think that just because I get bored super easily though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 1 and 3 are what helped me get out of my slump. I was not able to come up with posts at all and was putting up reviews intermittently. It was when I had this complete black and white theme going. I changed it 3 weeks back to something more cheerful and the new theme is what keeps me going! And the list of post ideas is another brilliant hack. Ideas strike you at any time and if you put it down on your phone or somewhere, you can always go through it when you’ve hit a writing roadblock.

    Loved this post!😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These are such great tips. I luckily haven’t gotten into a blogging slump yet, but I feel like I might be at the beginning of one. The past few days it’s just been sooo hard to get myself to do blog-related things. I’ll definitely have to keep this post in mind to help pull myself out of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The redesigning thing is what I did when I was in a huge blogging slump, I was gone for like a month and when I came back I thought I’d change it up a bit and it definitely helped !!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is suuuuch a great post! I love all your tips 😀 redesigning definitely works for me too because new things somehow make me more excited to post 😛 I did a complete makeover a few months ago and some small changes last month, I loved it! Also yes to keeping a list of blog posts. I have a blogging notebook where I keep all my ideas and they’re always handy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks you!! I’m happy you love them.

      I’m glad your blogging notebook works for you. I tried having a notebook, but it didn’t work for me. What I do now is that I have sticky notes on my computer or I create drafts with my ideas when I know it’s something I want to post soon. This has been especially useful the last couple of weeks, I have been posting a lot more than usual.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

