Life Update

Things I’ve Been Loving Recently: Books, Movies, TV Shows, Music & More

Things I've been loving recently

Today, I thought it would be a good idea to talk about some things that I’ve been loving in 2017, so this post will cover January, February and the first weeks of March.

BOOKS

These are my top 5 books I have read so far in 2017, or at least I think so, it’s just that I have read so many amazing books this year that it was really hard to choose my favorites and I’m still not entirely sure about my picks. My favorite definitely is How to Make a Wish, there’s diversity, a cute love story between two girls, and a honest depiction of a complicated relationship between a mother and a daughter.  Here are my reviews for How to Make a Wish and God Smites and Other Muslim Girl Problems. You can read my thoughts about the other books in my January Wrap Up and my February Wrap Up.

Top 5 winter

MOVIES

I haven’t watch that many movies in 2017, but these 3 are definitely the ones that stand out. My favorite was Hidden Figures, I love stories about women doing amazing things, especially if they are women of color, so I definitely loved this one; the acting was amazing and there’s a scene where Katherine screams at this room full of white people that’s my favorite scene of any movie I have watched this year. A the same time, I think for the cinematography and for the importance of the story, Moonlight is outstanding and I found La La Land entertaining even if I recognize that it’s problematic, mainly I liked the songs.

top 3 winter

TV SHOWS

I watched a lot of TV Shows and right now I’m behind in most of them, because I have been really busy. The only ones I’m not behind in are Jane the Virgin and Grey’s Anatomy. I’m loving them both; Jane is always great because being latinx myself I can related to a lot of things that happen in the show and Grey’s is one of my favorite show of all times and I’m liking this season so far.

I have started to watch two new shows thia year: one is One Day at a Time, which I found incredibly funny because again being latinx I can related to a lot of things, this show has been great because when my anxiety gets really bad I can watch this and feel a bit better. I have also been watching Big Little Lies. which I’m very intrigued by and I’m enjoying it so far.

MUSIC

This is the playlist of songs I have been loving lately. I’m currently obssesed with Green Light by Lorde.

BLOGGERS & BOOKTUBERS 

Here are some booktubers and bloggers I have been loving, go check them out!

One thing that made me happy recently is that T just started her blog Novel Paradise ! I have been following her for a while on Twitter and I’m happy to be able to read her reviews and opinions in her own blog.

I have a new favorite blog and it’s Puput’s blog Sparkling Letters, I discovered her blog recently after moving from blogger  to wordpress and I love all her post.

I just found a new booktuber to follow, she is Adriana @Perpetual Pages and she is a latinx. I’m so excited about that! I don’t enought latinx bootubers and I really need to do it.

As always, I’m ejoying Dana’s videos @The Book Horder. She is one of my favorite booktubers.

COVERS

I follow a lot of people on Youtube that make covers, I chose the cover of Lost Boy by the Gardiner Sisters because I have been obssesed with it the last month and a half and I chose the cover of Scars to Your Beutiful by Cimorelli because I have been loving it the last week since they posted it. Th fact that they are both groups of sisters is a total coincidence, btw.

That’s it! Those are some of the things that I have been loving lately. Let me know in the coments, if you like any of the things in this list. Also, tell me what things have you been loving recently. I would love to know! 

Add me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter 

6 thoughts on “Things I’ve Been Loving Recently: Books, Movies, TV Shows, Music & More

  1. I suspect you haven’t read Big Little Lies? It’s pretty dark, but I’m also enjoying it so far! Because I’ve read the book though, I already know a lot of the secrets which is the only downside.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s totally up to you. I guess you can create more suspense in adaptations because you have more to work with as opposed to books so maybe you should wait? You should definitely read it though! Do you have any suspicions as to who dies? I’m not sure if there’s actual foreshadowing or if I only think there is because I already know!

        Like

  2. OMG I’ve had Green Light on repeat ever since it was released! I’ve also been loving Ed Sheeran’s new album. My favorite songs from it are Perfect and Barcelona. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

