wrap up

May 2017 Wrap Up

wrap-up-3

During the month of May I was doing my last finals of my last semester of Uni (I mean, I still have to do a intership next semester before graduating, but no more classes! Yay!). Because of that, my anxiety was out of control and the only thing that seem to help was reading new adult, so that’s what I did for most of May. Here are the 11 books I read in May:

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas (4 stars)

A Court of Wings and RuinThis was a very anticipated realese for me. Sadly, it wasn’t as good as I expected. Even if I did enjoy it a lot. I think everything went a bit too perfectly for the main characters, I feel like it was easy to tell that this was written in a rush and also there was so many elements of the story that weren’t tied up well enough ( I know there’s more books, but still…). I still enjoyed this book a lot mainly because of the characters and because of Nesta and Cassian (my babies, who need to be the main characters in the next books!)

Books 1 – 3 of the Winston Brothers Series by Penny Reid

Truth and Beard: 3 stars/ Grin and Beard it: 3,6 stars / Beard Science: 3,8 stars

Winston-Brothers-1-650x325

I want to start by saying that Penny Reid’s books got me through finals and I will be forever grateful.

With that out of the way, I want to start by saying that I didn’t read this series in order. I had heard great things about the second book (Grin and Beard it ) and really bad things about the first one (Truth or Beard). Because of that, I started by the second book,  then read the third (Beard Science) and after enjoying both of them, I finally decided to give the first one a chance.

The second and third book have amazing romances, even if the couple of the third book is my favorite. Also, the dialogue in the second book is especially good, it feels natural and realistic. I liked the couple in the first book the least and I also liked the brother who was the protagonist in that book the least. But I still enjoyed it.

All three books have in common that there’s some really steamy scenes and there is a really interesting family dynamic between the brothers. Each is completely different from the others and that makes the relationships between them complex and captivating. The family element is definitely one of my favorites. I can’t wait to read the rest of the books in this series.

Book 1 -4 of the Knitting in the City Series by Penny Reid (3 stars for all 4 books)

knitting in the city

I didn’t read this series in order either! I started by the fourth book, Beauty and the Mustache, because is about the sister of the main characters in the Winston Brother series. It’s actually book #0.5 of the Winston Brothers series. After that I read book 2 (Friends without Benefits), Book 1 ( Neanderthal Seeks Human) and finally, book 3 (Love Hacked).

About this series, I can say that there are very diferent and unique female characters, and there are incredible female frienships. On the other hand, it’s not as steamy as I thought it was gonna be (not nearly as steamy as the Winston Brothers series) and in some cases the romances weren’t as snoony and incredible as I was hoping.

I’m not sure if I want to continue with this series. If you have read them, do you think I should continue?

Settling Up by Eryn Scott (3 stars)settling up

This was just ok. I liked the main characters and I liked the way their relationship developed. This was more on the cute side than the steamy side and maybe that’s why I was disappointed, because it was not what I was hoping for.

The Da Vinci Code ( 4 stars) & The Lost Symbol (3 stars) by Dan Brown 

Robert Langdon

I had big expectation for this books and even it didn’t completely met those expectations, I still found it fascinating. I feel like I learned a lot of cool things from reading it and I liked the interactions between Robert and Sophie, I think they made a good team.

I think the Lost Symbol is my least favorite of this series so far. There were a lot of parts that I found boring and it was not as interesting as the other, I think that’s because in this one Robert Langdon resists to believe the entire book and so all the knwoledge that he usually transmits wasn’t there. The thing I like the most about this book were the bits about noetic science, I found them fascinating.


  Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? Do you want to read any of them? Let me know in the comments! 

Add me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter 

5 thoughts on “May 2017 Wrap Up

  1. ahhh!!! I just read the Winston Brothers books too! I enjoyed the first and second but they were more like 3 stars for me.. however, I LOVED Beard Science so much!! Cletus and Jenn were my fave couple! I absolutely loved reading their scenes together they were hilarious and so great!! I also read the first knitting in the city book and loved it.. i’m hoping to finish the series soon and super excited to read beard in mind!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

