wrap up

June 2017 Wrap Up

 

monthly-wrap-up-1

June was a weird month for me, it was actually kind of a hard month. To begin with, I was in a reading slump and that always affects my mood so much. I did a bit of traveling in the first weeks of the month and even if I had a great time, I was having troubles with my boyfriend so I was sad and frustrated during the entire trip, and then I came home and break up with my boyfriend after 2 years together. And let’s remenber,  I WAS IN A READING SLUMP and it sucked, because I needed a distraction, a refuge and when that happens I usually turn to reading and I couldn’t.

Anyway, I did manage to read 5 books and here there are:

1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood  (4 stars)

I read this because I wanted to watch the tv show and I ended up really enjoying the book. It was not what I was expecting, the writing style and the way the story was told confused me at first and threw me off because it was not what I was expecting or what I’m used to. Nonetheless, the story in itself was interesting to read, the themes this book dealt with were fascinating and I found the ending to be really cool.

2.Doing it: let’s talk about sex by Hannah Witton (3 stars)

I follow Hannah on Youtube, so I have been hearing about her book for a while and I wasn’t that excited about it, but I decided to give it a chance. At the end, I found that this is a book for begginers, someone who is just starting to learn about gender roles, relationships, sex, the LGBTQ+ community and other subjects like that. Most of what she says in this book, I already knew, so that was what made this book a bit boring for me. One thing that I want to highlight is the fact that if she isn’t part of a community or hasn’t experienced a situation or an issue herself, she invited someone who is part of that communty or someone who experienced that to talk about it.

3.When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (4 stars)

I enjoyed this book so much, I had never read a book about a arranged marriage in a contemporary setting and I found it really interesting. I really liked the romance in this, the characters and the writing. I do have to admit that it took me a little bit of time to like Rishi, but I ended up enjoying his character.

4.Some Kind of Perfect by Becca and Krista Ritchie

This was the third time I have read this book, I was not in the mood to read anything, so I decided to read something I had already read and rated because that way my perception of a new book wouldn’t be affected by my mood. I love this series, so it was good to read about the characters again and this is an ‘epilogue book’ so it was nice to read the happily ever after. Also, re-reading this made me excited to read Damaged Like Us, which is a kind of continuation for this series.

A Storm of Swords 

5. A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin (4,5 stars)

This book took me so long to finish, because it’s huge! Nonetheless, I really enjoyed it, so many things happen, the characters all grow and change, and THAT ending! This is definitely my favorite book of the series so far.

 

  Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? Do you want to read any of them? Let me know in the comments! 

Add me on

Goodreads Bloglovin Twitter 

 

4 thoughts on “June 2017 Wrap Up

      1. So far it’s good, I’m not too far into it though. I’m usually not a huge fan of Cinderella stories, but I like this one so far because the main character is super geeky.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

