#ownvoices · bookish list · Diverse Books

6 Anticipated Releases by Latinx Authors (Seconf Half of 2017)

6 anticipated releases by latinx authorsI have been trying to increase the amount of books I read that are written by Latinx Authors for a long time now, but I keep feeling like I don’t try hard enough. I think about doing it often and I planned to do it all the time, but I think I don’t take as much actions to actually do it. As a Latina myself, I feel like I need to commit to this goal of reading more books by Latinx authors and promoting those books on my blog as well.

That’s why, I looked up the releases for the second half of 2017 written by latinx authors and I chose some that sounded interesting to me and that I wanted to read. All these books not only are written by latinx authors, they also have latinx main characters.

The First Rule of Punk by Celia C. Pérez (August 22nd 2017)

A girl who loves Punk + a conservative school with an strict dress code + misfits that create a punk band + illustrations and collage art because the main character loves zines= what else do I need to say?! Even if I don’t read middle grade often, this one sounds amazing!

The Closest I’ve Come by Fred Aceves (November 7th 2017)

A kid with an absentee mother + an abusive stepfather + who lives in a poor neighborhood + he wants to find love in his life and wants to leave his neighborhood behind +  a program for troubled teens with potential = a story about a boy that learns that bravery is about being true to yourself. I’m interested in seeing how the conversation about poverty, abuse and dysfunctional families is handled. That’s definitely makes me really want to read this book.

The Victoria in my Head by Janelle Milanes (September 19th 2017)

A shy teenager with the dream of being a rock star + overprotective Cuban parents + paralyzing-stage-fright + unattainably gorgeous boy = a story about a girl looking for the courage to confront her insecurities, fight for her dreams and love. A YA contemporary with a latinx main character that sounds like it’s NOT gonna be a sad, dark contemporary, it’s just what I need!

Wild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore (October 3rd 2017)

Magical realism + bisexual representation + amazing family dinamic + different kinds of relationships between women as a central part of the story +  Anna-Marie McLemore’s writing = the only thing I have to say is that I can’t wait! I loved When the Moon was Ours and I’m really excited to read another of McLemore’s books.

I am not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sanchez (October 17th 2017)

This book deals with grief and with learning that a person that it’s gone wasn’t as perfect as you thought, which to me is always a interesting concept, but the fact that this revolves around a mexican family makes a concept that is not that unique something really special.

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera (September 5th 2017)

In this book, people get told if they are gonna die in the next 24 hours and there’s an app called Last Friend that finds you someone to spend your last day with. It’s an interesting concept and there’s LGBTQ+ representation! I haven’t read any of Adam Silveras other books, but I’m really excited to finally read something by him. I haven’t hear anything but great things.

Are you planning on reading any of these books? Do you have recommendations for books written by latinx authors? Let me know in the comments! 

Add me on

Goodreads Bloglovin Twitter 

6 thoughts on “6 Anticipated Releases by Latinx Authors (Seconf Half of 2017)

  1. The Victoria in My Head was really fun and cute. I really loved the music aspect in the story. I’m really looking forward to They Both Die at End (I got an eARC from Edelweiss and I need to read it).
    I’m also looking forward to Shadowhouse Falls by Daniel Josè Older!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait to read The Victoria in My Head, I had never heard about it until I decided to do this post and now it’s one of my most anticipated releases for the next half of the year.

      Also, I have never read a book by Daniel José Older, but I have heard great things about his writing and I’m looking forward to reading something by him soon.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I have noticed that not a lot of people read books by latinx authors and I’m not sure why, so that’s definitely one of the reasons I want to promote them in my blog. I hope you you get the chance to read those book after the release!

      Wild Beauty is my most anticipated release for the next half of the year. I have heard nothing but great things nad I can’t wait to read it.

      Like

      1. I think it’s part of the overall problem of people not reading enough by authors of color, truthfully. But it’s a great idea for you to promote them. Hopefully it’ll get some readers to check out authors/books they’d otherwise not look into. 🙂
        I’ve been hearing soooo many great things about Wild Beauty and I can’t wait to get a chance to read it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

