#ownvoices · 9 Books Monday · Diverse Books

9 Books with Lesbian Main Characters

9 books lesbian

Hey guys! I’m finally out of my blogging slump and I couldn’t be happier. To get back into schedule, I decided to start with 9 Books Monday, which is a feature here on Bookish Wanderess where I talk about books that are focused on marginalized group (Here are the 9 Books Monday posts I have written so far). The idea is that on Mondays, I’ll talk about 9 books that have positive representation for a minority/marginalized group.

This series is not only to recommend books that I have read to you and to talk about books I want to read, this series is also a reminder to me that I need to expand my reading and search for books that allow me to know other cultures, perspectives and ways of life. Today, I will talk about 9 books with lesbian main characters.

3 Books I Read and Loved

Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

A lesbian biracial girl + references to the movie industry: things about set design, location scouting, casting, shooting + a small mystery +  a lovely and quiet romance. I had so much fun when I read this and I have heard nothing but good things for #ownvoices reviewers. Maybe that has to do with this being an #ownvoices book!

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera 

This is one of my favorite books of all times. The main character in this book is Latinx and queer (#ownvoices!) and I love the fact that this books deals with a lot of important subjects related to intersectional feminism.  Also, this is #Ownvoices.

Future Leaders of Nowhere by Emily O’Beirne

This book has two main characters: an Australian-indian lesbian girl and a bisexual girl. The book is about a competition- where both girls meet- that’s similar to a model UN but it takes place in a summer camp. This book not only has great representation, it also has a very interesting concep and it’s not that well known, so you should check it out!

3 Books on my TBR 

The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

Lesbian pirates + giant sea animals + intriguing plot = what more could I need? I can’t wait to read this, it sounds like something I would love and I have heard nothing but good things from #ownvoices readers.

As I Descended by Robin Tally

A Macbeth retelling that has Hispanic characters and folklore, an f/f romance, an m/m romance and a disabled character. I can’t not wait to read this, I’m really intrigued!

We are Okay by Nina LaCour

This is a slow and  quiet story about grief and at the center of it are two girls that used to be in a relationship and that haven’t seen each other in a while. I have heard great things about the way the representation. Honestly, I liked Everything Leads to You so much that I’m really excited to read another Nina LaCour book.

3 Books Releasing Soon 

The Love Song of Sawyer Bell by Avon Gale (September 25th 2017 )

An indie rock band that’s going on tour + a female lead singer + a classically trained female violinist + kisses and lots of chemestry = the perfect contemporary that I want to read RIGHT NOW! That’s all I have to say about this one.

A Line in the Dark by Malinda Lo (October 17th 2017 )

This is a phycological thriller with various queer female characters and a Chinese main character. I’m really intrigued by the synopsis of this book and especially by the cover. I have never read any book by Malinda Lo, but I have heard amazing things about all of them and about the representations in them. I can’t wait to read this one.

Spinning by Tillie Walden (September 12th 2017)

A graphic novel about figure skating and coming out, but also about outgrowing a passion. It sounds fascinating, especially because I have never read anything about figure skating. I haven’t hear that much about it, so I’m not sure about the representation but I’m hoping is good.

Have you read any of these books? did you enjoy them? Are you planning on reading any of them? Do you have recommendations for books with lesbian main characters? 

Add me on

Goodreads Bloglovin Twitter 

2 thoughts on “9 Books with Lesbian Main Characters

Leave a Reply

