bookish list

5 Books I Read Because Everyone Else Was Reading Them

5 books I read because everyone else was reading themI’m definitely one of those people who gets caught up in the hype and ends up reading books because everyone else seems to be reading them. It doesn’t happen with everybook, but if I had a bit of interest in that book before and I start to see it everywhere, there’s a big chance I’ll inmidiately pick it up. So, today I decided to talk about 5 books I read in the first half of 2017 because everyone else seemed to be reading them. 

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon 

When I first heard about this book I was so excited to read it, but by the time it came out I  wasn’t as excited anymore. Nonetheless, the week this was released it was everywhere. I saw reviews of this in almost ever single blog I follow, so my excitement was back and I read it. I ended up really liking it, I thought the concept of an arranged marriage in a contemporary setting was really interesting and the story was so cute.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas 

Is there any book that has been more hyped this year that The Hate U Give? I really don’t think so. Everyone seems to have read this and loved it and I’m no exception. This was  such a heartbreaking book and it was really hard to read because the situations the characters end up in were so enraging. At the same time, it has amazing family dynamics, great friendships, it has interesting storylines for all the characters and it has great representation.

The Melody of You and Me by M. Hollis 

This book is not what I would define as a popular book, but most people I follow on Twitter have read this book and loved it. There was a point like 2 months ago where everyone seem to be reading this and so I read it as well. Unfortunately,  I ended up not loving this book. It has so many good things a pansexual main character, a lesbian filipino love interest, sex positivity and female masturbation, but I couldn’t get pass the very week writing.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E, Schwab

The last book in this series came out this year and everyone was talking about it, so that finally convinced me to start this series. I know this is cheating a little bit  because people were talking about the last book and not this one, buuuuut….  I’m gonna count it anyway because I actually read the entire series in one go and I loved it. It had amazing characters and I shipped Kell and Lila so much. Also, the world building and magic system were interesting and captivating.

 Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

I’m cheating a little bit with this one as well, because everyone was talking about the tv show that’s based on this book and not the book itself. But still, it was everywhere! I actually started to watch the  tv show first and then decided to read this book. At the end, I felt like the tv show made some really good changes and that made me like it more, but I still really enjoyed the book.

Have you read any of these books? Did you like them? What books have you read this year because everyone else was reading them? 

Add me on

Goodreads Bloglovin Twitter 

 

11 thoughts on “5 Books I Read Because Everyone Else Was Reading Them

  1. I really want to read When Dimple Met Rishi, it’s seems such a cute read and everyone keep saying good things about it! I would also want to read anything by V.E. Schwab, I haven’t read any of her books, but I still haven’t decided which one I want to read first. And I have The Hate U Give with me, ready for me to pick it up and read (probably this month or the next one) 😛 Great post! ^^

    Like

  2. I’m going to be reading A Darker Shade of Magic because I kept hearing about it and then it was at the throw-pile at work and in ENGLISH, so I thought I’ll give it a go.

    I also read Six of Crows and The Hate U Give because everyone was talking about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read When Dimple Met Rishi as well! It was so cute and such a great change from the heavy classic I was reading. I’m currently reading Big Little Lies and I’m enjoying it a lot more than I thought I would but sometimes I roll my eyes at the characters since they act like they’re in high school. I don’t think I’ll be watching the show though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

