wrap up

July 2017 Wrap Up

wrap-up-4

If you read my june wrap up, you know I had a very hard month personally. July was definitely better but I was still sad about my break up, I was working on my thesis so I was really stressed out and I was waiting to start my intership. All this things mean my anxiety was out of control and I got sick  because of it.

Nonetheless there were some good things, I hanged out with my friends a lot and I had so much fun, and also I was out of my reading slump so I read 11 books!

Fantasy Books

I’m finally getting back into my favorite genre after months of not wanting to read it. Yay! Also, I managed to finish two fantasy series that I had started a long time ago during the month of July.

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen (3,7 stars)

This book was very different from the first one, there’s an element that was added nd that I feel like it didn’t really work. It feel forced and like it came out of nowhere and it played such a huge role in the story that it was hard to get past it.  Still, I enjoyed this. Especially because of the main characters and the relationship between them.

The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen (3,5 stars)

I saw the ending coming since the beggining of this book and that took a bit of the excitment for me. Also, I didn’t liked the ending, so that didn’t help either. This was still entertaining, but I was disppointed.

The Novice by Trudi Canavan (4 stars)

This book is slow and almost nothing happens in it, until the very end. BUT I still really enjoyed the experience of reading it. The main character grew a lot in this book, I feel like the book explored other characters and that was interesting and there was some intriguing discoveries, all this things kept the book from being boring.

The High Lord by Trudi Canavan (3,5 stars)

Contrary to the second book in the series, in this book so many things happened but I was so bored for 60% of this book. I wasn’t connecting with the storyline or the characters in the first part and only in the last 40% did I get the amazing, fast paced, fascinating book that I wanted this to be. The ending was good, except for one little detail that’s revelead in the last few pages.

A New Adult Series

Whenever I’m extremely anxious I choose a new adult book or an entire series (depending on how anxious I am) to read and in July my pick was the Dearest series.

I’m gonna be honest and say that I don’t remember that much about this series and it’s been less than a month since I read it. So I will start with: this was not particulary memorable series for me. My favorite one was the first book and I gave it 3,5 stars, the other 2 books got a 3,2 stars rating. The writing was ok, I liked the couples especially in the first book and the female characters were good. That’s as much as I remember.

The 2017 Releases 

Damaged like us by Krista and Becca Ritchie (3,9 stars)

I have so much love for the Addicted to You/ Calloway Sisters series that I feel like I had to read this. At the end, I really enjoyed getting to know this characters that I had see as kids in the other series and I loved the fact that I got to see the old characters that I love so much.

The Story of Lizzie and Darcy by Grace Watson (3,7 stars)

I really liked this! I shipped Lizzy and Darcy so much, they were wonderful together. I loved the fact that this revolved around the publishing world, I feel like it gave it something extra. Also, there’s lesbian representation, bisexual representation and trans representation and I feel like there were handled in a good way.

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia (4 stars)

I loved this book, except for one little detail. This could have been a 5 stars read, I loved Eliza, I loved Wallace, I loved the idea of the webcomic, I think the representation of anxiety is amazing. BUT I do think there’s a major plot point were one of the portagonists acts so out of character that it takes away from the story, I felt like the author did it just to increased the drama and the conflict of the book and I felt disappointed.

The ARC

Invictus Invictus by Ryan Graudin (4,2 stars)

I got an ARC of this book through Netgalley and I had so much fun reading it. The concept of this book was really interesting, I loved the characters and the relationships between them and I thought the ending was really good. Full review to come!

 

  Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? Do you want to read any of them? Let me know in the comments! 

Add me on

Goodreads Bloglovin Twitter 

Leave a Reply

