If You Liked This Movie, You Should Read This Book!

Hi everyone! Today I have a post for you that I’m really excited about. Recently, I wrote a post about Books that Need Adaptations and, as part of that post, I decided to compare the books I was mentioning with a movie or tv show that was similar in any way and that’s how the idea for this post was born.

I know that the title says that if you liked a movie, you should read the book, but it also works the other way around, if you liked the book, you shoulod watch the movie. That’s why I decided to focus on the similarities between the movies and books and why I think that if you enjoyed one, you will like the other.

Without further ado, here they are:

Jupiter Ascending –> A Spark of White Fire

While reading A Spark of White Fire, which is inspired by Indina Folklore, I imagined in my mind a very opulent and extravagant aesthetic with rich, vibrant colors for the clothing, the settings and the gods while also including technological advances. And that’s the exact aesthetic of Jupiter Ascending. So if you like your Sci-Fi with beautiful imaginary and full of secrets, betrayals and struggles for power, this movie and this book are for you!

Arrival –> Sleeping Giants

If you like Sci-Fi that focuses on scientists investigating and trying to understand mysterious alien civilizations and their technology, both this movie and this book are perfect for you. They have similar vibes in terms of being mainly set in militar compounds, where scientists are working for the military and using their knowledge in ways that they never imagined. Both of them have complicated romances between co-workers and in both the main characters are affected and changed in mysterious ways.

My Week With Marilyn –> The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Since I read The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, I have found certain similarities between Evelyn and Marilyn. Old Hollywood movie stars using their sex appeal to their advantage, being darlings of the media at some points while also being harshly judged at others, having difficult pasts and being complicated and sad behind the scenes, those are all things Evelyn and Marilyn have in common. If you are captivated by complicated female characters living in the public eye while keeping many painful secrets in their private lives, then you will enjoy this movie and this book.

Always Be My Maybe –> The Way You Make Me Feel

This movie and this book have Asian main characters, in both of them one of the main characters doesn’t take things too seriously and it’s wasting their potential and those characters grow and develop throughout the story. Food plays an important role in the lives of the main characters in both and they are both funny and have a similar sense of humor. If you are looking for funny, romantic, food-centric content with Asian main characters, this movie and this book are for you.

Coco –> A Dash of Trouble

If you like stories about kids that have to deal with complicated family relationships, family secrets, magic and breaking the rules, and that take place around El día de los Muertos (the day of the dead), then this story is for you. Both this movie and this book have this warm, magical and a little innocent vibe that it’s incredibly heartwarming.

What movies and books do you think have similaties between them? Do you agree with my picks?

Add me on

Goodreads Bloglovin Twitter  | Pinterest Letterbox

12 thoughts on “If You Liked This Movie, You Should Read This Book!

    1. I’m so glad you can see the connection too! I was a bit nervious when I was putting this together that people wouldn’t understand why I paired a book and a movie together.

      I’m hoping to get to Ali Wong’s book soon, I have heard good things about it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s