Short Books to Read If You’re Behind in Your Goodreads Challenge | Blogmas Day 10

Hi everyone! While I already completed my Goodreads challenge this year, I know what it’s like to be missing just a few books to reach your goal and that’s why I decided to look through my shelfs and find some short books (under 250 pages) that I would recommend and that may help you complete your Goodreads challenge.

I decided not to include romance novellas since I have so many of those to recommend that I’m writing a separate post about it.

to make monsters out of girls by Amanda Lovelace (168 pages): a poetry collections that explores the experience of being in an abusive relationship and the process of healing after that experience. It’s beautifully written, honest and evocative.

For Every One by Jason Reynolds (102 pages): This is a poem for the dreamers of the world that’s powerful and inspiring.

Have You Seen Marie? by Sandra Cisneros (112 pages): This is beautiful and heartbreaking story told in verse about losing someone you love and the grief that comes with that. Sandra Cisneros manages to convey so many feelings in such a short and simple story.

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson (182 pages): This eerie, spooky book about a haunted house will make you feel unsettled and doubt what’s real and what isn’t. It has great writing, an unreliable narrator and intriguing characters.

Animal Farm by George Orwell (141 pages): This book has a clever concept, it uses animal to take a fascinating look at fascism. Also, its fantastically written.

Evil Under the Sun by Agatha Christie (220 pages): Agatha Christie books are always so entertaining that you feel like you finish them in a blink of an eye.

The Wayward Children Series by Seanan McGuire (all the books are under 202 pages): I know this series is very popular, but if you are a fantasy lover and you’re looking for something short, they are the perfect choice. These books have great writing, interesting concepts, complex characters and so much heart.

God Smites and Other Muslim Girls Problems by Ishara Deen (236 pages): An entertaining and diverse YA mystery, perfect for fans of Nancy Drew. This book is about a Muslim teenage girl solving a muder.

We are Okay by Nina LaCour (236 pages): This is a quiet book about grief that’s bittersweet and raw. It’s one of my favorite YA contemporaries of all time, so I highly recommend it.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight (236 pages): A cute and fluffy YA contemporary about a love born when two teenagers get stuck in an aiport. This is entertaining and a very fast read.

What short books would you recommend? How are you doing with your Goodreads challenge this year?

Add me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter  | Pinterest 

February 2017 Wrap Up

monthly-wrap-up-1

I don’t know how but I managed to read 10 books in February, and ,what’s even more exciting, 9 of those books were diverse. This is gonna be a bit of a long post, so let’s talk about the books!

february-2017-wrap-up

God Smites and Other Muslim Girl Problems by Ishara Deen (4,2 stars) 

I recieved this book from the author and I’m extremely grateful to her. This is a funny, charming and interesting book. The main character, Asiya,has a unique voice that shines throughout the whole story. Also, the humour is absolutely brilliant and that comes from being honest and outspoken about things that are not often talked about in YA. Here’s my review.

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco (4,2 stars) 

I recieved this book when it first came out and I’m ashamed to say I didn’t read it until recently. This book is atmospheric, it has a creepy vibe that captures the attention of the reader, while also having amazing main characters that are intelligent, funny and complex. The only flaw is that it’s easy to guess who Jack the Ripper is.

The Skating Rink by Roberto Bolaño (3,2 stars)

I read this in my purse of reading more Latin American authors, my boyfriend and one of my best friends love Roberto Bolaño and that’s why I ended up reading his book. The story is told from the perspective of 3 men, it’s an internal monologue of what they think and how they see women in their lives and it isn’t entertaining or insightful. By the end of the book, the reader doesn’t have an idea of who these women actually are, only the ideas these men create about them. Also, this is a mystety and it becomes really predictable after halfway through the book. The one great thing about this book is the writing. Roberto Bolaño is definitely talented with words.

If the Dress Fits by Carla de Guzman (4 stars) 

This book is funny and cute. The main character, Martha, is plus sized and she has a positive relationship with her weight and that makes this story really valuable.  The book is set in the Philippines and the cultural aspects are very fasicnating and insightful. Also, there ‘s fake dating and the best friends to lovers trope in this story, which allows some emotional moments and makes this book really swoony.

Well Played by Katrina Ramos Atienza (3,4 stars)

This is a Pride and Prejudice retelling set in a university in the Philippine and learning a little bit about how things work in their educational system is entertatining. The characters are interesting enough and the romenace is good even if it takes way too long to start moving forward. The main problem with this book is that it’s too short and that makes the ending feel a bit rush.

february-2017-wrap-up-2

Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan (I didn’t give it a rating)

This book has really problematic content; there are biphobic comments, ableist comment,  a woc is called ‘exotic’ repeately and there are a lot of other issues. At the same time, this is #ownvoices, the author shared the sexuality and ethnicity of the main character. The few things I liked about this book were that it has a lesbian Persian main character, her family and their culture were big parts of the book, her friends were great and the love story we get at the very end was cute. I’m really conflicted about this book and I think I wouldn’t recommend it.

The Backstagers by James Tynion IV & Rian Sygh ( 4Stars)

This is a cute and short graphic novel that has a diverse cast of character and great representation. Also, it has mystery and fantastical elements that make it interesting and intriguing.Here’s my review.

How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake ( 4,5 stars) 

I recieved an ARC of this book in exchange of an honest review. This book has an amazing romance, Grace and Eva are so cute! Grace is bisexual and Eva is a biracial lesbian girl, these topics are address in a sensitive and thoughtful way; this book is a great example of representation done right. Another good thing about the book is the story of Grace and her mom, which is raw and complicated and told with so much honesty.

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (4,2 stars)

This book is about a love story, pure and simple. There are a lot of important subjects discussed, especially race, but at its core I feel this is a love story. A beautifully written love story that can be slow at times, but that by the end it has the reader engrossed. It is defenitely a character driven story, the main character Ifemelu is really complex and kind of intriguing, while the plot is a simpler one.

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire (4,3 stars)

This is a odd book that has a really fascinating premise.  Hearing about all the different lands the kids went to was incredibly entertaining and the diverse cast of characters, both in terms of LGBTQ+ community and POC’s is represented in a thoughtful and considerate way.

  Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? Do you want to read any of them? Let me know in the comments! 

Follow me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter