Short Books to Read If You’re Behind in Your Goodreads Challenge | Blogmas Day 10

Hi everyone! While I already completed my Goodreads challenge this year, I know what it’s like to be missing just a few books to reach your goal and that’s why I decided to look through my shelfs and find some short books (under 250 pages) that I would recommend and that may help you complete your Goodreads challenge.

I decided not to include romance novellas since I have so many of those to recommend that I’m writing a separate post about it.

to make monsters out of girls by Amanda Lovelace (168 pages): a poetry collections that explores the experience of being in an abusive relationship and the process of healing after that experience. It’s beautifully written, honest and evocative.

For Every One by Jason Reynolds (102 pages): This is a poem for the dreamers of the world that’s powerful and inspiring.

Have You Seen Marie? by Sandra Cisneros (112 pages): This is beautiful and heartbreaking story told in verse about losing someone you love and the grief that comes with that. Sandra Cisneros manages to convey so many feelings in such a short and simple story.

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson (182 pages): This eerie, spooky book about a haunted house will make you feel unsettled and doubt what’s real and what isn’t. It has great writing, an unreliable narrator and intriguing characters.

Animal Farm by George Orwell (141 pages): This book has a clever concept, it uses animal to take a fascinating look at fascism. Also, its fantastically written.

Evil Under the Sun by Agatha Christie (220 pages): Agatha Christie books are always so entertaining that you feel like you finish them in a blink of an eye.

The Wayward Children Series by Seanan McGuire (all the books are under 202 pages): I know this series is very popular, but if you are a fantasy lover and you’re looking for something short, they are the perfect choice. These books have great writing, interesting concepts, complex characters and so much heart.

God Smites and Other Muslim Girls Problems by Ishara Deen (236 pages): An entertaining and diverse YA mystery, perfect for fans of Nancy Drew. This book is about a Muslim teenage girl solving a muder.

We are Okay by Nina LaCour (236 pages): This is a quiet book about grief that’s bittersweet and raw. It’s one of my favorite YA contemporaries of all time, so I highly recommend it.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight (236 pages): A cute and fluffy YA contemporary about a love born when two teenagers get stuck in an aiport. This is entertaining and a very fast read.

What short books would you recommend? How are you doing with your Goodreads challenge this year?

Add me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter  | Pinterest 

My Reading so Far in 2018: I Completed my Goodreads Challenge of Reading 52 books!

my reading so far in 2018

I have never read 52 books in 4 months before in my life and I’m so excited! I honestly can’t believe that I completed my Goodreads challenge so early in the year. Since I still have so much of the year left to read, I thought it was a good idea to check my reading statistics in terms of genres, authors, diversity and some other things, and see if there was anything I wanted to change in terms of my reading for the rest of 2018. Here’s what I found:

GENRES

This are the genres I have read, the number of books for each genre and the percentage that the number of books represents in terms of my reading:

  1. Romance= 17 book (33% of my reading )
  2. YA Contemporary = 9 books  (17% of my reading)
  3. Poetry Collections= 7 books (13% of my reading)
  4. Fantasy = 6 books (12% of my reading)
  5. Sci-fi= 6 books (12% of my reading)
  6. Non Fiction (memoir) = 4 books (8% of my reading)
  7. Fiction (chick lit) = 2 (4% of my reading)
  8. Historical Fiction =1 (2% of my reading)

In other years, my two main genres were YA Contemporary and fantasy, but with time romance has climbed to the top of my list. One of the main reasons is that I’m in a fantasy slump, but also it has to do with the fact that when my mental health is not great, reading romance  really helps me. I want to try to read more fantasy again.

Separador 1

OTHERS 

I used to read mainly YA, but I feel like this year that hasn’t been the case, so I wanted to check how much YA I have read this year. I tried to see how much new adult and adult I have been reading but since I read so much romance and I’m not sure how to separate which one are NA and which one are adult, I decided to stick to just YA:

Young Adult=  19 books out of 52 are young adult (36%)- I like that this % has drop because it means I have more of a balance in terms of how much YA/NA/Adult I read.  

This year I’m trying to read more new releases and I have been writing posts with my anticipated releases for each month, so I wanted to check how I was doing with that goal.

2018  releases= 11 books ( 21%) – this is not that good since I want new releases to be at least 40% of what I read, that’s the goal for this year and I need to start reading more new releases.

Separador 1

AUTHORS

I have read a total of 46 authors this year:

5 male authors (10%)  VS. 41 female authors (90%)

I checked and found no information about any of the authors being non-binary or gender non-conforming.

I honestly love the fact that the majority of the authors I read are female and I want to keep it like that.

POC Authors = 14 authors out of 46 (26%)

I need to do better, the percentage of POC authors I read needs to increase! Also, I’m latinx, so I checked how many of the POC authors were latinx and I’m ashamed, only 4 authors are latinx. 

Authors that are part of the LBGTQIAP community= 8 authors out of 46 (15%)

Again, I need to do better and read more authors that are part of the LGBTQIAP community. Also, I may have missed some authors because I only counted the ones that have publicly talked about their sexual orientation.

Separador 1

DIVERSITY 
20 books out of 52 (38%) had LGBTQIAP main characters or, in a few cases, love interests (that had significant roles in the story): 

1 book had a tran character

1 book had a non-binary character

3 books had asexual characters

6 books had lesbian characters

6 books had bisexual characters

8 books had gay characters

In terms of romance, out of the 37 books I read that had romance in the them: 8 books had a m/m romance, 8 had a f/f romance and 21 had a m/f romance. I just want to note that not all the m/f romances are straight couples, since a few have bisexual characters.

15 out of 52 books (28%) had POC main characters. 6 of these 15 characters are latinx. 

Honestly, I need to do so much better in terms of reading more diversely.  I haven’t been paying that much attention to what I read and I haven’t been choosing the books I read as consciously as I should have been.

Separador 1

Did you set a Goodreads goal? Did you accomplish it already, are you behind or are you right on schedule?  What genre have you read the most in 2018? Are you making the conscious of reading more diversely ? 
Add me on

Goodreads Bloglovin Twitter 

Reading Challenges Update- March 2017

reading-challenges-2

Every month, I post an update of how I’m doing in the challenges that I’m participatin in. If you want to know my brief thoughts about any of the books in this post, you can check out my March 2017 Wrap Up.

DIVERSITY BINGO 2017

This month I read 2 book that fit into squares  of  the diversity bingo 2017 that are still empty and I read 3 books that fit into squares that I already filled. I’m only putting the 2 books that fit into empty squares. I have read 16 book for this challenge and the goal is to fill the 36 squares. (14/36)

DB2017 update1

BEAT THE BACKLIST

108f7-btbchallengesliderMy goal for this challenge is to read 30 backlist books this year and to count towards the challenge the book has to have been realese before 2017. I read 4 books in March that count towards this challenge, which means that in 2017 I ahve read a total of 19 books that count towards this challenge. (19/30) 

btb march.png

FLIGHTS OF FANTASY

flghts-of-fantasy

My goal for this challenge is to read 20 fantasy books in 2017 and I’m falling. I didn’t read any fantasy book in March. (4/20) 

GOODREADS

I want to read a total of 80 books in 2017. I read 6 books  in March and that means I have read 23 so far in 2017 and I’m 4  books ahead of schedule.

grc march

Are you participating in any challenge? How are you doing? Have you read any of the books on this post? Did you like them? If you posted an update for your challenges, leave me a link! 

Follow me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter 

Reading Challenges Update- February 2017

reading-challenges-2

Every month, I post an update of how I’m doing in the challenges that I’m participatin in. If you want to know my brief thoughts about any of the books in this post, you can check out my February 2017 Wrap Up.

DIVERSITY BINGO 2017

This month I read 8 book that fit into squares for the diversity bingo 2017 and they are all #ownvoices. I have read 14 book for this challenge and the goal is to fill the 36 squares. (14/36)

db2017-update1

BEAT THE BACKLIST

108f7-btbchallengesliderMy goal for this challenge is to read 30 backlist books this year and to count towards the challenge the book has to have been realese before 2017. I read 8 books in february that count towards this challenge, which means that in 2017 I ahve read a total of 15 books that count towards this challenge. (15/30) 

bb2.png

FLIGHTS OF FANTASY

flghts-of-fantasy

My goal for this challenge is to read 20 fantasy books in 2017. I read 2 fantasy book in february, which takes my total count to 4. (4/20) 

ff2

GOODREADS

I want to read a total of 80 books in 2017. I read 10 books  in february and that means I have read 17 so far in 2017 and I’m 4  books ahead of schedule.

gdf

Are you participating in any challenge? How are you doing? Have you read any of the books on this post? Did you like them? If you posted an update for yur challenges, leave me a link! 

Follow me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter 

Reading Challenges Update – January 2017

reading-challenges-2

Every month, I will be posting an update about how I’m doing in the challenges that I’m participatin in. If you want to know my brief thoughts about any of the books in this post, you can check out my January 2017  Wrap Up .

Diversity Bigno 2017

This is the challenge I’m most excited about and I’m glad that of the 8 books I have read so far this year, 7 of them fit in squares for the diversity bingo and they are all #ownvoices. I really want to fill all the squares by the end of 2017 and I think I’m doing really well so far.

db2017-update1

Beat the Backlist

108f7-btbchallengeslider

My goal for this challenge is to read 30 backlist books this year and to count towards the challenge the book has to have been realese before 2017. I’m very glad to say that 7 of the 8 books I have read this year count for this challenge.

rcu-j

 

Flights of Fantasy

flghts-of-fantasy

My goal for this challenge is to read 20 fantasy books in 2017. In January I read 2 books that work for this challenge and if I keep that pace I think I will achieve my goal.

an-ember-sidekick

Goodreads

goodreads-challenge

 

I want to read a total of 80 books in 2017. So far, I have read 8 books; 7 in January and 1 the first day of February. I’m 1 book ahead of schedule.

 

 

rcu-j1

 

Are you participating in any challenge? How are you doing? Have you read any of the books on this post? Did you like them? If you posted an update for yur challenges, leave me a link! 

Follow me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter