My favorite books of the 2024 so far

Let’s talk about the books I have loved the most this year (so far)! but before getting into the books, be aware that this list is not ranked, it’s in the order I read the books because I could decide on a ranking.

Without further ado, here are my favorite books of 2024 so far:

Emily Wilde’s Encyclopaedia of Faeries by Heather Fawcett: I loved this cozy fantasy told in an interesting academic and epistolary style, with a few darker and violent elements since it’s a book about fairies. Set in a small town, it’s full of side quests and adventures involving the townspeople and fairies, ranging from fun and cozy to distressing. The best aspect of this book is the main characters. They are so different from one another: Emily is serious and scholarly, while Wendell is charismatic and talkative. Their dynamic is so entertaining, and their bickering is so much fun.

The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi by Shannon Chakraborty: Amina is a character with a strong, captivating voice, which is one of my favorite aspects of this book. I also loved the endearing found-family made up of a ragtag group of characters. This plot-heavy story is full of adventures, mixing real historical details with magical creatures, sea monsters, sorcerers, and magical artifacts, this combination makes it incredibly interesting. I had so much fun discovering this world.

Tastes Like Shakkar by Nisha Sharma: I really liked both main characters, they were loyal, hardworking, and passionate. They had so much chemistry from the very beginning and I loved the development of their relationship from animosity to love. The friend group is fantastic and I appreciated the way this discussed complicated family dynamics and the toll that family obligations can have. Overall, a really great romance!

Bride by Ali Hazelwood: I honestly believe that Ali Hazelwood could write a grocery list, and I would read and love it. She makes me feel invested in her characters and stories. This book is set in an interesting world; I always love stories about humans, vampires, and werewolves coexisting, and I appreciated the unique elements that made this one stand out. I loved the romance—a marriage of convenience where the hero is secretly pining for the heroine. It’s a slow-burn, fated mates story that I couldn’t get enough of.

Just for the Summer by Abby Jimenez: I LOVED the hero in this book, he’s swoony and embodies the idea of “if he wanted he would”. He is not just a nice guy but a layered character, with a complicated family storyline that had me hooked. A scene with his mom even made me cry, which is rare for me. The heroine was frustrating at times, but it was easy to understand her due to her childhood trauma. Her powerful character arc was compelling. The romance was adorable, the main characters had so much chemistry and I loved to see a relationship built on honesty. There was great banter, inside jokes, and also the pre- and post-date questionnaires were delightful.

Honorable mentions

You can find reviews for these books HERE

What are some of your favorite books of 2024 so far?

Add me on
 Bookstagram| Ko- fi | Goodreads |   Bloglovin Letterbox

5 thoughts on “My favorite books of the 2024 so far

Leave a comment