Watched in 2023 #6: Little Mermaid, Doctor Cha, While You Were Sleeping and more

Hi friends! I say this every time I start one of these posts but it’s still true: I’m so behind with these reviews. Today I’m sharing my thoughts on some of the things I watched a couple months ago. Still, I’m happy to share them with you, especially since I really enjoyed some of them.

What’s Love Got to Do With It? (4.5 stars): I always enjoy watching Lily James on my screen, she is such a captivating actress. The main characters didn’t have tons of chemistry, but I liked their relationship and there was enough tension especially mid-way through the movie which made the romance believable. There was some very interesting exploration of conflicts between cultures but also between different views within a specific culture, which I really appreciated and it was my favorite part of the movie. There were some unrealistic parts of this when it came to Zoe’s work as a filmmaker, but that wasn’t the point to me so I just let it go.

Little Mermaid (3 stars): I wanted to love this, I even went to the theater to watch it. But there were some issues with the choices they made in terms of translating this from an animated movie to live action. Some of the animations, ie Sebastian, were terrible, and some of the attempts to recreate scenes exactly like they were in the animated movie, ie Ariel on top of the rock, didn’t work and looked weird. Nonetheless, I liked the performances, the songs, and some of the romantic scenes, especially the one on the boat, which were beautiful. But overall, this was just ok for me.

Dr. Romantic Season 3 (4.5 stars): The thing I LOVE about this series is the characters and their relationships and this season delivers in terms of those two things, while also having some interesting cases and patients to keep the plot captivating. There were so many incredible moments between the main couple, Eun Jae and Woo Jin, and between the side couple, Eun Tak and Ah Reum. They had good times and hard times this season and I was invested. The performances were fantastic from the entire cast, even secondary characters that have been there from season 1 got their time to shine, which I really appreciated. The episodes about the building collapse were incredible. Overall, it was a very strong season.

Doctor Cha (4 stars): This was so entertaining to watch. It has a sympathetic main character, a villain that is easy to hate, and supporting characters that steal the show. I loved seeing the journey of self-discovery of the main character throughout the show, how she goes after what she wants (being a doctor) and starts to live her life as she wants after a long time of not doing so. I also appreciated that the show explored a lot of the side characters’ perspectives and journies as well, and while some of them were very frustrating and pretty terrible people, the show allowed them moments of honesty that made them feel more realistic. Despite dealing with some hard topics and moments, the show manage to keep a lighthearted and humorous tone throughout that kept it entertaining. Also, the side romance was so cute, it kept me invested.

While You Were Sleeping (4 stars): This series had a captivating premise – people who can see the future in their dreams – which was executed really well. The format of the show meant that the episodes usually ended in cliffhangers and it worked so well, I was always intrigued and it made it hard to stop watching. While the overarching plot was really good, the case of the week part of the show wasn’t that memorable but that didn’t affect my enjoyment of the show at all when I was watching it. The performances, in general, were very good. I loved the relationships between the characters, that was the best thing about the show: the romance, friendships, and family relationships.

Joseon Attorney (3.5 stars): The performances by the two main actors were outstanding and their chemistry was captivating, it was the main reason I kept watching. The relationships between all of the characters were heartwarming, I really liked the bromance that formed by the end. Overall, the legal cases were interesting, but it felt like most of them were resolved similarly and easily, which meant after the first few episodes I wasn’t really that intrigued by that aspect of the show. A whole storyline about the main character’s sister was introduced too late and the resolution was rushed. Nonetheless, this was an easy watch that was entertaining enough thanks to the chemistry between characters.

What movies or tv shows have you loved lately? Have you watched any movie or tv show that really disappointed you in 2023?

Add me on
Letterbox |  BookstagramTwitter  | Ko- fi | Goodreads |Bloglovin Pinterest 

Leave a comment