Watched in 2023 #10: Ted Lasso, The Princess Bride, OMITB, The Witcher and more

After running behind on this post for most of the year, I finally caught up!!!! I mean, almost caught up, I already watched 3 more things but those are going to go in the last Watched in 2023 post of the year.

For now, here are my thoughts about the movies, tv shows, and documentaries that I have watched lately:

To Catch a Killer (3 stars): It started strong, following the investigation was entertaining, the performances were good, and I was invested in the personal storylines of the characters. Nonetheless, the writing wasn’t the best, the ending had its shocking moments but I didn’t love it and I think it was a bit confusing, especially about the motives behind the whole thing.

The Princess Bride (4 stars): I finally watched this for the first time and it was not what I expected, it was a lot funnier, sillier and weirder than anything I could have imagined. I really liked that the way the movie looked (the set, the costumes, etc) felt like a children’s book coming to life. Mandy Patinkin as Indigo stole the show.

tv shows

Virgin River Season 5 (3.5 stars): This series fulfills a very specific need I have for cozy, small-town stories with lots of romance, lovable characters, and a good amount of angst (but since I know everything will work out I don’t have to really worry). I appreciate the way this has portrayed Mel’s struggles with infertility and I want to see where they go with that storyline. I do think this series sometimes feels a bit disjointed because there’s a storyline about drug dealers that doesn’t fit with the rest of the plot, but beyond that, I think it’s exactly what I need.

Ted Lasso Season 3 (4 stars): I liked a lot of things about this season, as always I loved the characters and the relationships between them, it was funny and there were the trademark heartfelt moments. But there were so many underdeveloped or disconnected plots, a lot of storylines felt rushed especially during the last couple of episodes and that ending was so unsatisfying.

The Witcher Season 3 (4 stars): I really liked this season, so many things were finally revealed and things are getting into place for what’s coming. I appreciate the way they have adapted the books and made some things clearer. I love Geralt and Yennifer together, so this was a great season for me because they had some great scenes, I also loved seeing Yennifer and Ciri get closer, and seeing the three together was lovely even if short-lived. Some of the secondary characters also got their chance to shine and play big parts in the story, which I enjoyed. I can’t believe that Henry Cavill won’t play Geralt anymore, he was the perfect Witcher.

Only Murders in the Building Season 3 (4 stars): Despite the amazing actors and performances this season, it wasn’t quite as good as the first season of the show maybe because there are points where the three main characters, with their dynamic that makes the show so special, are not working together and are a bit scattered. Nonetheless, it’s entertaining, the mystery keeps you guessing, and the amazing chemistry between the three leads is still there when they actually work together.

Sex and the City Seasons 1 – 6 (4 stars): This was my second time watching the entire series all the way through. I actually watched most of this earlier this year but at the beginning of season 5, I had to stop watching because I wasn’t enjoying it quite as much. Months later I finished the series and I definitely think that the first seasons are a lot stronger than the last. Season 6 took a detour that didn’t add that much to the show and that meant that the ending to a lot of characters and relationships that have been in the show from the beginning felt rushed. But overall, this show was refreshing and witty. The four main characters are compelling from the very beginning and the friendship between them makes this show feel so special.

Kelce (4 stars): I found this very compelling despite knowing almost nothing about American football. The Kelces seem very down-to-earth and honest in this, and it was fun to get a bit behind the scenes of how is the life of a high-level athlete, the family dynamic, and also the whole journey to the Super Bowl and to the face-off between the Kelce brothers.

Beckham (4 stars): I found this interesting because I realized that I didn’t know a lot of things about David Beckham, I didn’t know he was such a good player, and I had no idea of everything he went through after his first world cup and how badly he was treated. But that made me enjoy it more because I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see what was going to happen. Also, they did a great job of using all the footage they had both from his career and his personal life, there were points where they had footage of specific moments and I kept wondering how. Honestly, despite all the clips I have seen on social media of him and Victoria, this docuseries is very much focused on his career and it was an entertaining watch.

Friends The Reunion (4 stars): I had this on my to-be-watch list since it came out and after Matthew Perry’s death, I finally decided it was time to watch it. I enjoyed this, it was entertaining and it was great to see all the cast together after all this time. But I kind of wish that there were fewer guests and games and more of just them reliving old times and revealing behind-the-scenes stories. There was some of that but I wanted more.

What movies or tv shows have you loved lately? Have you watched any movie or tv show that really disappointed you in 2023?

Add me on
Letterbox |  BookstagramTwitter  | Ko- fi | Goodreads |Bloglovin Pinterest 

4 thoughts on “Watched in 2023 #10: Ted Lasso, The Princess Bride, OMITB, The Witcher and more

  1. People keep mentioning The Princess Bride and I haven’t seen it in such a long time. Maybe this is my sign to rewatch it! I do love how silly and lighthearted it is! 😀

    And, lol, how did I miss that there is a Kelce documentary with all the current hype?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment