April 2017 Wrap Up

monthly-wrap-up-1

This wrap up post is very late and I’m really sorry! It’s just that April and May were not good months for me in terms of my anxiety, my school life and blogging. But as a way to cope with all that I did manage to read A LOT (at least for my standars). Today, I want to talk about the books I read in April.

AW1

1. Queen of Geeks by Jen Wilde (4,5 stars) 

I loved this book, not only did it have so many geeky references to books, tv shows and movies; it also had great representation. The main characters in this book were Taylor, who is in the autism spectrum and has severe anxiety,  and Charlie, who is bisexual and chinese. All these diferent identities were very well represented. Also, Taylor and Jaime are the best thing ever,  I shipped them so hard throughout this book.

2. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty (3,8 stars) 

I read this book, because I watched the HBO series and loved it. I feel like the tv show made some really good changes and that made me like it more, but I still really enjoyed the book.

During April, I had a week off from school and I made a TBR for that week that I posted (5 Books 1 Week: My very Ambitious TBR) . I ended up reading 3 books:

3. Better at Weddings than You by Mina V. Esguerra (3,8 stars)

I really liked the main characters in this book. The main male character was defenitely a bit too perfect and that wasn’t really realistic, but I didn’t really mind that much. And the main female character was definitely not perfect, but her POV was really enjoyable and I found her realistic and complex. Also, this book takes place in the Philippines and that gave the whole wedding planner storyline a more interesting background.

4. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab  (4,6 stars)

This year  have been in a fantasy reading slump, but I was finally able to go back to reading this genre and it’s all thanks to this book. It had amazing characters and I shipped Kell and Lila so much. I know a lot of people think that the characters are not unique, especially Lila, but there’s still the kind of characters I really enjoy. Also, the world building and magic system were interesting and captivating.

5. When the Moon was Ours  by Anna-Marie McLemore (4,2 stars)

The writing in this book was amazing, the representation in this was outstanding and I was so intrigued by the plot of this book. I really, really liked this book. Also, the villains of this story were so fascinating that I would love to read an entire book about them.

After my week off, I still was in a reading mood and I ended up reading 7 more books. 

AW2

6. The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers (4,3 stars)

This was definitely a quiet book, there was action but it wasn’t the main focused of the book. It was definitely character driven and all the main characters are amazing and they have wonderful relationships with each other. Also,  this book addressed very important subjets like gender, race and sexuality.

7. Animal Farm by George Orwell (3,2 stars)

I think this book was clever but that’s it. Which means that I think the way the nazi propaganda was presented was really interesting and it’s one of the few things that I really appreciated about this book, but the writing was just ok and I was bored for the majority of the book. The only thing I absolutely loved about it was last few lines.

AW3

8. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab (4 stars) 

After finishing the first book, I was obsessed with the main characters of this series and I wanted to know what was gonna happen with Lila and Kell, so off course, I picked up this book soon after finishing that one. I just love binge reading series!

This second book was definitely a filler book, one that I still enjoyed a lot, but it did got to a point where I started to feel like  it was dragging a bit. Nonetheless, the ending of this was amazing! It did make up a bit for the fact that nothing happened for a big part of the book.

9. A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab (4,6 stars) 

I was so glad I had this book after finishing the second one, because I honestly don’t know what I would have done otherwise. I really liked this book! All my ships sailed and that made me so happy. The ending of this series wasn’t a 100% what i wanted, but it was close.

10.Royally Screwed by Emma Chase (3,2 stars)

Before this book, I had not read a book about royalty outside of fantasy. After reading this, I found that it’s quite an interesting subjet to me, the idea of weight and the responsabiliy of royalty in a contemporary setting. I really liked the main female characte, but in terms of the male character, I can say that I had a few issues with him. I still enjoyed their relationship and the steamy scenes.

11. Royally Matched by Emma Chase (3,2 stars)

I liked the main couple in this one more, I felt like I could related to the female character. Also, I think  I liked this because I’m always interested in book that has a reality show component to it.

12. The Melody of You and Me by M. Hollis (2,8 stars)

This book got that rating because it had amazing representation, but honestly if it wasn’t for that I would have given it a 1 star. This book had a pansexual main character and a lesbian filipino love interest, which was amazing. The problem was the writing, everytime that there was suppost to be tension or attraction, it wasn’t there. Honestly, I don’t know how to explain it, but the writing was so week.

  Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? Do you want to read any of them? Let me know in the comments! 

Add me on

Goodreads | Bloglovin | Twitter 

10 thoughts on “April 2017 Wrap Up

  1. Out of these I’ve only read The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet. Like you said, it was very character driven, which I didn’t expect! I also enjoyed the aspects of gender, race and sexuality. Fantastic book! I still need to get to the sequel though…. some day lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! You read a lot this month. I totally get the feeling of anxiety mixed with blogging and school. It’s a struggle.

    Sadly, the only one I read was Animal Farm from your list but there are a lot on here that I have added to my TBR 🙂

    Hope you’re having a better May!

    Danica @ Shelves of Spines

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet on my shelf and I’m quite excited to read it soon! 😃 Too bad you didn’t like Animal Farm that much, I really love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Most people really love Animal Farm and I was sure that was gonna love it as well, I was disappointed when I finished it and didn’t enjoy it.

      I hope you read The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet soon, it’s such a great book with fascinating discussions and interesting characters. For what I have read in your blog, I think you would enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw I’m glad to hear that! I’ll read it sooner than I thought then! 😃

        Like

Leave a comment