It’s Not Magical Realism: Fantasy Books by Latinx Authors

Hi everyone! Today I have another post to celebrate Latinx Heritage Month and it’s a very exciting post because fantasy is one of my favorite genres and I have some recommendations if you want to read fantasy books by Latinx authors.

If you are wondering why this post includes “It’s not Magical Realism” in the title, it’s because oftentimes fantasy books by Latinx authors are label as magical realism, especially if they are paranormal or urban fantasy and it’s a big source of annoyance for Latinx authors and readers. Not everything that Latinx authors write and that includes magical elements in it should be pigeonholed as magical realism. Latinx and magical realism are not synonyms. This post is not about this discussion tho, so if you want to learn more a quick google search will help you out with that!

Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Goodreads | Amazon

  • This book follows a young woman and the Mayan god of death as they embarque on a quest, where they face all kinds of mythological creatures ande deities, in order to save their lives.

    • The writing makes it feel like reading a myth or fairytale, it was so engaging.

    • The Mayan mythology was captivating and lush, and since it’s a mythology that it’s not often used in fantasy books, this book was full of gods and mythical creatures that felt very new and unique.

    • It’s set in 1920’s Mexico and the mix of the mythological elements and the ‘modernity’ of the Jazz Age worked well and gave this story an even more unique touch.

Nocturna by Maya Motayne

Goodreads | Amazon

  • This book follows a thief with powerful magical abilities and a prince running from his past, who inadvertently free an evil force and then have to try to capture it again before it destroys everything.

  • The most magical thing about this book is the way it embraces Latinx culture and the way it uses Spanish as the language of magic in this world.

  • It addresses colonialism and slavery through the history of this fantasy world in a very organically and subtle way.

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

Goodreads | Amazon

  • This story follows a young women, who has trained all her life to be a primera, a wife who runs her husband’s household. But when a rebel group treatens to expose her biggest secret, she is forced to start working for them. All this while having to live with the enemy, her husband’s other wife, the Segunda, in charge of giving him children.

  • This books has two beautifully complex main characters, a forbidden sapphic love story, fascinating mythology, an infuriating world and a flawed and complicated rebelious group.

    • The strengh of this book lays in the way it addresses immigration, privilege, poverty and opression, because it manages to evoke so many emotions and be incredibly thought-provoking, it’s brilliantly done.

Beneath the Citadel by Destiny Soria

Goodreads | Amazon

  • This book follows Cassa, the orphaned daughter of rebels, who is determined to fight back against the high council to do it she must go on a heist and her only allies are no-nonsense Alys, easygoing Evander, and perpetually underestimated Newt.

  • This book has five main characters, who are queer, poc or struggling with mental illness and trauma. They all have distintive voices and personalies and the author seamlessly integrates the different aspects of the characters identities to the story.

  • This book is full of twists and turns and a fast pace that keeps the book entertaining and engaging.

Labyrinth Lost + Bruja Born by Zoraida Cordova

Goodreads | Amazon

  • Each book in this series follows one of the Mortiz sisters, who are brujas and who always end up getting into trouble when their spells backfire.

  • This series includes a variaty of magical beings like brujas, werewolves, vampires, fairies, zombies and so much more. All of them as well as a lot of the mythology in this book are steeped in Latin American culture and mythology. And that’s one of the main things that’s wonderful about this book: how unapologetically Latinx it is.

Each of Us a Desert by Mark Oshiro

  • This book tells the story of Xochital, a girl who has been the Cuentista of her community, she takes the stories involving secrets, lies and deceit that produce feelings like guilt and she gives them back to the land so people can be forgiven by their god. If this process doesn’t take place, the stories manifest themselves as Pesadillas – monsters out of nightmares.

    • Each of Us a Desert is a quiet fantasy book about the role of stories in our lives and in our communities and the link between the stories we are told and the things we believe in and have faith in. This is a character-driven book with a loose plot but with strong thematic elements.

Incendiary by Zoraida Cordova

  • This book follows Renata, who thanks to her unique magical power was kidnapped and forced to work for the King only to escape and join the rebels. But when the commander of her unit is taken captive, Renata has to return to the palace under cover and complete his top secret mission.

    • One of the stronger aspects of this story is that it feels like like something bad is about to happen at any moment because Renata is living in the midst of enemies and there are so many secrets and interests at play.

      • Incendiary has an intricate magic system, vivid characters, twist and turns that will keep you at the edge of your sit and an ending that will leave you wanting more

Have you read any of these books? Are any of them on your tbr? What Fantasy book by Latinx authors have you enjoyed?
Add me on
Bookstagram | Twitter  | Ko- fi | Goodreads Bloglovin Pinterest Letterbox

30 thoughts on “It’s Not Magical Realism: Fantasy Books by Latinx Authors

  1. I never really thought about the fact that so many fantasy books by Latinx authors are described as being magical realism, but now that I think about it I can see that it’s true! I love seeing Latinx rep (and any other rep) in a space that in the past has not been very diverse.
    I am planning on reading the last two books of the Brooklyn Brujas series in the next couple of months, I’m excited to get back into that world! Also, always love to see Gods of Jade and Shadow. It’s probably my favorite standalone fantasy 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I love seeing Latinx Rep in every genre, subgenre and using every trope. I hope you love the last two books in the Brooklyn Brujas series! I think I liked Bruja Born even better than Labyrinth Lost. I’m so happy that you enjoyed Gods of Jade and Shadow, it’s one of my favorite books of the year!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have read We Set the Dark on Fire (I still need to pick up the second one, but I’m scared that I won’t enjoy it as much). I have been thinking about picking up Brooklyn Brujas, Incendiary and Gods of Jade and Shadow, and thanks to you I think I’m going to pick them up sooner. Take care 🙂 ❤

    Btw. I have 2 post already up for this year LHM, sorry for the "self-promo"I just would love some feedback or something, don't feel pressured 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I defnitely didn’t enjoy the sequel as much a We Set the Dark on Fire, but it still a good book. I hope you enjoy Brooklyn Brujas, Incendiary and Gods of Jade and Shadow! I’m so happy to know that I encourage you to pick them up sooner.

      I’ll definitely check out your posts!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll try to pick all four of those books before 2020 comes to an end, but since my reading has been a mess lately is going to be hard. BUt thank you again for making me more excited to read them. Take care!

        And thanks for being up to check out my posts/content! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. omg incendiary is one of my top 10 books of 2020! i love fantasy novels and this book is a great spin on a lot of my favorite tropes/ideas. the world is so cool and i love the cover of the sequel as well.

    nocturna is also SO GOOD, and the covers are gorgeous as well! i loved the world and the incredible detail of the world so much. i need to re-read it before the second book comes out.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow Sofia, I learnt a lot through this post! I never even considered the fact that a lot of Latinx fantasy books are labelled as magical realism, but since you mentioned it, I have suddenly noticed how often this happens. I will even admit myself that I am quick to label Latinx fantasy books as magical realism, and I had no idea the repercussions that this has on the Latinx community. I will definitely be more aware of how I label Latinx books from now on. Thank you for the recommendations!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I LOVEEEEEED God of Jade and Shadow! It was so good. I’m so excited to read more by Silvia! I have Nocturna on my physical TBR but I haven’t gotten to it yet. I hope I can get to it soon and I hope I love it! I love the covers to Labyrinth Lost and Bruha Born too. It sounds super interesting. I really want to read these and Incendiary soon! Great list, Sofia! 😀

    -Amber

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Gods of Jade and Shadow! Signal to Noise is still my favourite of Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s novels – it’s one of my favourite novels of all time – but I think Gods of Jade and Shadow might just be my second favourite.

    Incendiary and Labyrinth Lost are both on my TBR, as is We Set the Dark On Fire. I tend to love books by Latinx authors, so I really need to get some more Latinx fantasy under my belt. 😀 I love the sound of Nocturna!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment