Hyped 2020 Releases: Will I read them? should I read them?

Hi everyone! Today I’m going to talk about some hyped 2020 releases that either came out recently or are coming out in the next couple of months. Also, I focused on genres that I read so fantasy and romance, and some horror and mystery. The idea is that I’ll tell you wheter I’m planning to read the books or not and I’m hoping you’ll tell me if maybe there’s a book that I’m not planning to read but that you think I should. Also, I would love to know if you enjoyed or didn’t enjoy one of the book I’m planning to read.

Before starting, I wanted to mention that these are books that I have seen people talk about a lot in the bookish community (blogs, twitter, booktube), which I know doesn’t always reflect the books that are hyped for the general public that isn’t involved in the community.

Without further ado, here are the books:

The Honey-Don’t List by Christina Lauren

Release date: March 24th 2020

I don’t think I’m gonna read this. Honestly, I keep adding the new Christina Lauren books to my tbr when they are annaounced but I haven’t read any of them since The Unhoneymooners because the reviews for their newer books have consistenly being bad and everyone seems to agree that their books are not as good as before.

The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix

Release date: April 7th 2020

I will be reading this, hopefully soon! I don’t read much horror, but the few books I have read from that genre I have really enjoyed, so I want to read more and I have been seeing this book everywhere and everyone seems to have great things to say about it, so I think it’s a good place to start.

To Have and To Hoax by Martha Waters

Release date: April 7th 2020

I don’t think I’ll read this one. I started to read historical romance recently and this book is one that I have seen mentioned often and it sounds really good. Unfortunetely, everyone mentions in the review that the conflicts in this book are all because of miscomunications and that’s a trope that I hate, so that’s why I have stayed away from this one.

The Tourist Attraction by Sarah Morgenthaler

Release date: May 5th 2020

I don’t think I’ll read this. This was on my May tbr, I was so excited for it but this has gotten a lot of bad reviews and rating, and because of that, I stopped feeling wanting to read it. I’m open to maybe reading this, so if you think I should read it, let me know!

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins

Release date: May 19th 2020

Nope, I won’t be reading this and I don’t think there’s anything anyone can say to make me change my mind. I wasn’t interesting when they announced this, I was less interested when they said it was a Snow book and after reading reviews I’m even interested.

Real Men Knit by Kwana Jackson

Release date: May 19th 2020 

I’m not reading this one. This book used to be on my tbr because I thought it was a romance, but after people started to post their reviews, I realized that this is chick lit that includes a romance but the romance is not a big part of the story and I’m not really interested in reading that.

The Guet List by Lucy Foley

Release date: June 2nd 2020

I’m reading this! This sounds like an Agatha Christie novel and I’m a massive Agatha Christie fan and I love to read novels that remind me of her books, because I feel there’s a big chance I’ll love them. Also, my friends who have read this have giving it really high rating, so I’m excited!

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Release date: June 30th 2020

Yes, I’ll read it! After loving Gods of Jade and Shadow, I can’t wait to read another of her books. This is a horror/ historical ficiton book, which is not what I usually read at all, but I’m curious and some of my friends have loved this one, so I’m going into it cautiously optimistic.

Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall

Release date: July 7th 2020 

I will definitely read this one! I have been seeing this book around a lot and I hadn’t pay any attention to it because I thought it was YA, but actually is adult romance. This is an m/m romance written by a man, which I have had trouble finding in the past, so I’m excted to give this one a chance.

From the books I’m not planning to read, is there any that I definitely should read? From the books I’m planning on reading, is there any that I should prioritize or maybe one you wouldn’t recommend?

Add me on

Goodreads Bloglovin Twitter  | Pinterest Letterbox

22 thoughts on “Hyped 2020 Releases: Will I read them? should I read them?

    1. I feel like I keep seeing posts and reviews of people that DNF’d it or gave it like 2 stars, but I have a tendency of focusing more in the bad reviews than the good ones, so it may be only my perception and not the truth. I may have to give it a chance to see how I feel about it

      Like

  1. You have just inspired me to add Boyfriend Material to my tbr! I hadn’t even heard of it before reading this post, but it seems right up my alley 🙂

    I saw The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes at the store today. I was tempted to get it, but I don’t think I want to spend money on it. I was excited for a Hunger Games prequel but I’m not happy it’s about Snow. I would much rather have had it be about Finnick’s first time in the games, or Mags. I think Suzanne Collins is just trying a bit too hard here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mexican gothic looks so good! I keep hearing about how great it is and really want to read it! I haven’t read any of Christina Lauren’s books and don’t think I will either bc of all the mixed reviews 🙃 great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh this is such a fun post idea?! I’ve seen people do this on booktube but never on a blog and I really love it. Would you mind terribly if I copied the idea some time and give you credit? ❤ And also, I agree with you on almost all of these! I think the only big one we had opposite views on was Ballad, which I'm currently reading and enjoying, buuuuut I can 100% see why not everyone was excited for it. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I have seen it on booktube too! Please do it, I would love to see what books you pick for it and whether you are planning on reading them or not.

      It’s so funny that before writing this post I had only seen negative reviews for Ballad and all the comments I have gotten in this post about it are from people who enjoyed it and I have actually started to see some positive reviews for it, so maybe it’s not as bad as I was making it up to be in my head.

      Like

  4. I’ve also stopped reading Christina Lauren’s books after The Unhoneymooners. I didn’t enjoy that book, and none of their releases after that interested me, even before I started seeing the mediocre reviews.

    But I am SO excited for Boyfriend Material! The second I heard about that book I immediately added it to my TBR! I’m so glad it comes out next month because I feel as though I’ve been waiting forever to finally read this book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment